Thanks to Denis Druker who passed this along.

As you may or may not know, the Boy Scouts will be releasing two new Eagle Merit Badges on Jan. 1, 2014.  The first is Sustainability, a completely new badge and the second is Cooking, which is being changed from a regular badge to Eagle required. 


Sustainability will be a new Eagle Merit Badge as of Jan 1, 2014 and will be an option to doing Environmental Science.

Cooking will become an Eagle-required (and not an option as with the above) as of Jan. 1, 2014.  While the total number of merit badges required for the Eagle Scout Award will remain at 21, .instead of 12 Eagle-required badges and 9 elective badges, a Scout must earn 13 Eagle-required and 8 elective badges.  In addition, the requirements for this badge will be changed, so any Scout completing the badge IN 2014 will have to follow those, however, if they already have the badge, they will not have to go back and re-earn or do any new requirements.

List of Eagle-required merit badges, effective Jan. 1, 2014

Earn a total of 21 merit badges, including the following:

  • First Aid
  • Citizenship in the Community
  • Citizenship in the Nation
  • Citizenship in the World
  • Communication
  • Personal Fitness
  • Emergency Preparedness OR Lifesaving
  • Environmental Science OR Sustainability
  • Personal Management
  • Swimming OR Hiking OR Cycling
  • Camping
  • Family Life
  • Cooking